Stone Cold by C.J. Box

Publication Date: March 11th 2014 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons. Stone Cold is the 14th in the Joe Pickett series.

Summary: Joe is back working for Governor Rulon again. This time the governor wants him to check out some hinky goings on in Medicine Wheel County in north central Wyoming. In particular, the Governor wanted to know what a man named Wolfgang Templeton was up to. Templeton has been buying up huge tracts of land, creating a small fiefdom for himself. He is also suspected of being involved in organized crime, specifically murder-for-hire. The governor asks Joe to go up there, nose around a bit and see if he can get some information. Joe is also supposed to not get directly involved.Stone Cold

Of course, Joe, being Joe, is going to get himself right into the middle of the mess in Medicine Wheel County. When he gets up there, he finds rampant corruption. He also discovers his old friend, Nate Romanowski, has gotten himself involved with Templeton.

Meanwhile, Joe is also dealing long-distance with family issues, as he worries about two of his three daughters.

Comments: Stone Cold was one of my favorite titles in this series. The plot, characters and action are spot on without anything feeling overly contrived. The novel zipped along and kept me reading at a rapid pace, wondering what was going to happen next.

Highly recommended for C.J. Box fans. For those unfamiliar with his work, I suggest starting at the beginning of the series, with Open Season.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s